Mt. Spokane High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

National Merit Commended Scholars

Press Release:
Principal Darren Nelson of Mt. Spokane High School announced today that Jinna Brim, Lukas Craze, Peter Duff, Michele Ortiz and Connor Smith have been named Commended Students in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program.  
About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.  Although they will not continue in the 2017 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2017 competition by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).
"The young men and women being named Commended Scholars have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success," commented a spokesperson for the NMSC. "These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation.  We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success."
Published Print